Joint Statement on the Resignation of Minister of Economic Development and Trade Aivaras Abromavicius

The text of the following statement was issued jointly by the Ambassadors to Ukraine of Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Lithuania, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and the United States of America.   Original text as released by Embassy of Sweden is available here.

Begin Text:

We are deeply disappointed by the resignation of Minister for Economic Development and Trade Aivaras Abromavicius, who has delivered real reform results for Ukraine.  During the past year, Abromavicius and his professional team have made important strides — implementing tough but necessary economic reforms to help stabilize Ukraine’s economy, root out endemic corruption, bring Ukraine into compliance with its IMF program obligations, and promote more openness and transparency in government.  Ukraine’s stable, secure and prosperous future will require the sustained efforts of a broad and inclusive team of dedicated professionals who put the Ukrainian peoples’ interests above their own.  It is important that Ukraine’s leaders set aside their parochial differences, put the vested interests that have hindered the country’s progress for decades squarely in the past, and press forward on vital reforms.

Ambassador of Canada Roman Waschuk
Ambassador of the Republic of France Isabelle Dumont
Ambassador of the Federal Republic of Germany Christof Weil
Ambassador of  Italy Fabrizio Romano
Ambassador of Lithuania Marius Janukonis
Ambassador of Sweden Andreas von Beckerath
Ambassador of Switzerland Guillaume Scheurer
Ambassador of the United Kingdom Judith Gough
Ambassador of the United States of America Geoffrey R. Pyatt